Marissa Bekkering-Tiamuna

Farmland Requirements

Type of Farm Operation

  • Dairy
  • Livestock
  • Field crops
  • Specialty crops
  • Other

Size of Operation Desired

2

Are you seeking a farm that is currently in operation?

Does not matter

Infrastructure Desired

  • Equipment

Tenure Options Considered

  • Short term lease
  • Long term lease
  • Lease with option to buy
  • Partnership
  • Employment for a period of time then transfer ownership
  • Other

Farmer Experience

Years of Farming Experience

2

Are you currently farming?

No

Are you looking to farm full or part time?

  • Full Time
  • Part Time

Do you have a business plan?

In progress

Description

Hello, my name is Marissa I am married to my husband Herve and I have a one year-old daughter I’ve had an interest in agriculture since I was 13 years old. I had a very small garden when I was younger with my best friend. I grew up in a farming community, but I never personally had livestock or a large garden on my property because both my parents had jobs in the city.

Then went to pursue my education at Northern Michigan University to get a degree in communications. I was 3 1/2 years in and Covid hurt my financial aid fell through so I had to leave but I gained a lot of farming knowledge there they have a very big environmental science program on a lot of people that are interested in regenerative agriculture.

I also have been watching farming videos on YouTube and homesteading videos since I was 14 so for about 10 years and have gained significant knowledge from that. I have had a garden at my friends house for the past few years just herbs, tomatoes, zucchini, turnips, lettuce and radishes. I also cook and bake a lot. I know how to ferment a little bit. I would like to grow my knowledge in that area and I would also like to learn how to can as well. My ultimate goal one day is to have a Self Sufficient Homestead, and grow the majority of my own fruits and vegetables, and have livestock on make all my dairy products.

A comprehensive list of my skills would be

Baking

Cooking

Basic woodworking skills 

Gardening

Researching

Time Management 

Planning 

 

My goal from posting on the site would be to find a plot of land where I can grow the majority of my food right now and potentially sell some of it.  I currently live in the city with my husband and baby and I have nowhere to garden. I also would be open to moving somewhere if someone has like a spare room or apartment and working on a farm in exchange for living there.

Thank you for reading my profile I hope you have a nice day

Want to contact this farmland seeker?

Login or create a farmland owner account.